National Agricultural Emergency Declared as Corn Leafhopper Ravages Crops in Multiple Provinces

Project proposal to declare agricultural emergency in response to severe corn pest outbreak.

Agricultural emergency declared in several provinces due to corn leafhopper

National deputies Luis Picat and Martin Ardohain have introduced a project to declare an agricultural emergency in several provinces affected by the corn leafhopper, an insect vector of the Spiroplasma kunkeli bacteria that is deadly to cereal crops. The emergency is affecting provinces such as Santiago del Estero, Chaco, Catamarca, Tucumán, Salta, Córdoba, Santa Fe, Entre Ríos, and La Pampa.

The agricultural emergency has three stages as explained by Picat. The first stage involves tax benefits such as income tax payment. The second stage involves zoning to determine the affected areas using satellite images. The third stage involves exempting or postponing the payment of rural real estate tax based on each province’s agreement.

The project also calls for cooperation between the National Government and affected provincial governments to minimize the impact of the pest. They recommend that the Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock, and Fisheries along with the National Institute of Agricultural Technology establish management protocols for producers to follow.

The corn leafhopper has spread rapidly this year to provinces like Córdoba, Santa Fe, Entre Ríos, and La Pampa causing alarm due to its impact on corn crops. According to the Buenos Aires Cereal Exchange an estimated 360,000 hectares across 27 departments could be significantly affected by the pest leading to production losses in areas like Santa Fe

Leave a Reply